About Goldie B.

Avid reader, independent thinker, and video game enthusiast. I am currently in 11th grade trying to survive the mean streets of high school. Books occupy about 90% of my life and 50% of my room.

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Mosquitoland

Mosquitoland is a journey that you will really get invested in. This book follows the tale of Mary Iris Malone, but she is better known as Mim. Teenage Mim escaped from her new home, in Mississippi, away from her father and a stepmother who was suddenly thrown into her life.
David Arnold writes an adventurous, entertaining and enjoyable story of our heroine Mim, slowly making her way up the map to see her mother in Ohio. Using multiple modes of transportation, including one I would never suggest. She meets interesting people from many walks of life, and along the way she gains two trusty side kicks.
Read this book for the pure adventure of traveling with Mim. She will make you feel alive and crave a road trip with friends. Mim uncovers parts of herself never seen or felt before and so will you.

 

Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future

Glory OBrien

In Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future, Glory, after she drinks a mummified bat, can see someones past and future just by looking at them. The future reveals a second civil war will break out and women will lose their freedom and right to work. Glory writes down everything she sees hoping that she can somehow stop it.

Glory’s journey is one of great importance. Along the way she will defeat her internal conflict about finding freedom and courage to be her own person. Kings writing will put you in the mind of Glory, her every thought will be your thought. You will connect with her on many levels. This book is a must read.

Goldie B.

 

The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi

DoubtFactoryIn The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi, Alix Banks lives the fine life of an upper class girl. She does everything that is expected of her: goes to a nice private school, has an SAT tutor, and gets all of her homework done. But none of that matters when a strangers tells her that her father works for multiple corporations that are letting innocent people die. Alix finds herself wondering who to believe. Her own father or a ragtag team of teen activists.

Written almost poetically, The Doubt Factory has great twists and turns that will keep you guessing. The character Alix is a true individual doing what she thinks is right. It is an extraordinary adventure that will grab you and force you to turn the pages.

 

Anatomy of a Misfit

18340210

In Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes, all Anika Dragomir wants is to keep her status as third most popular girl in school. To do this she must stay on the good side of her friend Becky Valhir who is the first most popular girl in school. Which means following Beckys lead and definitely not falling for Logan, a major nerd who over one summer turned hot. Anika falls for Logan more everyday and so her popularity drops through the eyes of Becky. Anikas personality drastically changes in a way she never imagined. Anika finds that it does not matter what others think about you as long as you are happy. She learns that if you love freely and unconditionally your status at school doesn’t matter. Portes portrays the hilarity and devastation of being a teenager perfectly. She explains dealing with dealing with sibling rivalry, crazy parents, (your friends’ and your own), true friendships, and sudden love. Recommended for fans of Eleanor and Park, and Looking for Alaska. This book will make you laugh, crave, and think.