Get Your Veronica Roth Tickets!

Bookshop Santa Cruz presents international bestselling author Veronica Roth (Divergent) for an in-conversation event and Q&A about her latest novel, Carve the Mark, the first book in her stunning new YA science-fiction fantasy series. This offsite and ticketed event, Roth’s only Bay Area appearance on her Carve the Mark tour, will take place at Santa Cruz High, 415 Walnut Ave., Santa Cruz. Receive a signed copy of Carve the Mark with every ticket package purchase and be entered into our Super Fan raffle: 100 lucky winners will get to meet Veronica Roth, have their books personalized, and take a photo with the author after the event.

Add it to your Wish List–it makes a perfect gift! Buy your tickets in-store or online!Veronica Roth Bookshop Santa Cruz

 

Great visit by Len Vlahos

Teen Book Crew reviewer Caleb meets author, Len Vlahos

Teen Book Crew reviewer Caleb meets author, Len Vlahos

Both Santa Cruz High School and San Lorenzo Valley High School were excited to welcome author Len Vlahos today. He presented his debut novel, The Scar Boys, to enthralled audiences at both schools. Len recorded students playing the guitar and will be posting that on his website, lenvlahos.com. He also took questions, shared information on becoming a writer, and answered student questions. It was an inspiring afternoon.

Len Vlahos at Bookshop Santa Cruz

Len Vlahos at Bookshop Santa Cruz

Len Vlahos and Teen Book Crew facilitator Jakeh Hall

Len Vlahos and Teen Book Crew facilitator Jakeh Hall

 

CONGRATULATIONS TO MATT DE LA PEÑA!

mattHis young adult novel, The Living, was just named a Pura Belpré Author Honor Book. The Pura Belpré Awards celebrate Latino/Latina writers and illustrators whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience. Ryan W. of our SC Teen Book Crew recently reviewed it calling it, “One of the best adventure novels I’ve ever read.” Read that review.

 

Salvage Review

salvage cover

 

Salvage, by Alexandra Duncan is set in a world hundreds of years in the future where earth isn’t the only inhabited planet. Due to catastrophic flooding on Earth, many humans fled to other planets, beginning the space age. Many colonists also fled into deep space to mine the mineral rich asteroids and planets. On the ships out in deep space males rule and women are treated as objects. Ava, the main character, is a young women living on one of the spaceships. She longs to have kids and can’t wait to marry her crush but right when she thinks everything’s perfect, it all goes wrong. Facing death, she flees from her ship to earth where she sees how humans actually live.

 

Duncan really swept me away with Salvage!  Normally YA books don’t approach the topic of gender equality but Duncan showed how real the situations are for mistreated women and how what we see isn’t always the truth. The best part of the book was how the author showed everything through Ava’s eyes so realistically; I could imagine myself right there with her. Salvage gave me everything I expected in a sci-fi thriller and more, showing that everyone is equal no matter how different they seem.

 

For fans of Ender’s Game, and other sci-fi thrillers, Salvage is where it’s at!

 

 

The Living – Great Adventure Novel – On Bookshelves Now

The Living

The Living by Matt de la Pena, was surprisingly one of the best adventure novels I’ve ever read. Most adventure novels are just adrenaline and action but The Living was more than that. The story deals with social barriers, unreturned love and corruption while still providing suspense and excitement.

Shy is a character that starts out looking normal and kind of bland but as the story goes on, and his life is destroyed, Shy shows that he’s a survivor at heart.

The plotline of The Living starts off a little slow but as the story progresses it gets deeper and reveals the darker sides of people. Once I got into The Living I just couldn’t put it down! The witness of a suicide pulls you in and I loved how de la Pena unfolds each disaster in a totally new way.  He makes you think the worst is over when there’s more to come. One of my favorite parts of the book dealt with Shy’s crush, Carmen. He really likes her but she doesn’t know it. She’s engaged to be married but it’s clear that she and Shy share a deep connection. What I like most though, is the fact that their relationship isn’t the focus of the story.  The Living is mostly about Shy’s story with Carmen as a side character. However, I’m not saying that I wouldn’t like to see more of Carmen in the next book! It’ll be cool to see how their world and relationship unfolds in the sequel!

If you’re a fan of The Hunger Games and other mysterious thrillers, The Living is the book for you!

 

Proxy – For fans of Legend, and Other Dystopian Thrillers

Proxy

Proxy, by Alex London, is set in a futuristic dystopian Denver hundreds of years in the future. The society is the only civilization on the continent and runs on the “proxy” system where the rich own the poor’s debt and the poor take the rich’s punishments. Syd is a poor citizen living a boring and terrible life because his “patron”, Knox (a rich person), is basically a criminal. One day Knox accidentally goes too far when he kills a girl and can’t face the consequences. This event threatens to ruin both of their lives and forces Syd and Knox to see the truth behind their society.

I loved how London isn’t afraid to include a homosexual main character.  It helps make the story more interesting and also gives insight on how someone’s sexuality doesn’t change who they are. The best part of the book by far was how the author presents and describes the city throughout the story. The description is so intricate and seamless that I could basically see London’s futuristic world before me. Proxy gave me a whole new view on how society works and showed me that everything really does come with a price.

For fans of Legend, and other dystopian thrillers, Proxy is the book to get!